Young stand management

Young stand management helps forests grow and increases the value of the forest

Taimikonhoito

Early cleaning and the tending of seedling stands are often necessary to accelerate forest growth. This work is traditionally carried out by a lumberjack with a brush saw. If the proportion of trees to be removed is large, it is worthwhile to carry out the work mechanically and collect the felled trees. Forest owners generate sales revenue from the wood from the collected trees.

Early cleaning is carried out after about 4–7 years and thinning after about 10 years.

From 1 March 1 2024, forest owners or contractors may receive financial support from the new forestry incentive scheme Metka for the early tending of seedling stands or the management of young stands. Read more about Metka support on the Finnish Forest Centre’s website.

Contact your forestry expert and make your timber purchase

KUMEKO Group buys all types of wood from all types of sites, from traditional thinnings to end harvesting. We serve Ostrobothnia, Satakunta, Pirkanmaa and Kanta-Häme regions.

All
  • All
  • Pirkanmaa
  • Etelä-Pohjanmaa
  • Satakunta
  • Kanta-Häme
  • Varsinais-Suomi
  • Pohjanmaa
Saku Hyriäinen
Forest Specialist
050 324 0114 saku.hyriainen@kumeko.fi
Akaa, Forssa, Hämeenlinna, Hattula, Huittinen, Humppila, Jokioinen, Lempäälä, Nokia, Pirkanmaa, Pirkkala, Punkalaidun, Sastamala, Satakunta, Urjala, Valkeakoski, Vesilahti, Ypäjä
Eemeli Taipale
Forest Specialist
050 357 3837 eemeli.taipale@kumeko.fi
Juupajoki, Kangasala, Orivesi, Pälkäne, Pirkanmaa
Jesse Kuuminainen
Forest Specialist
040 752 2878 jesse.kuuminainen@kumeko.fi
Luvia, Nakkila, Pori, Satakunta, Ulvila
Ville Haavisto
Forest Specialist
050 325 6574 ville.haavisto@kumeko.fi
Mänttä-Vilppula, Pirkanmaa, Ruovesi, Virrat
Roope Lohikoski
Forest Specialist
050 475 1903 roope.lohikoski@kumeko.fi
Kihniö, Parkano, Pirkanmaa, Tampere, Ylöjärvi
Risto Potila
Forest Specialist
050 329 9622 risto.potila@kumeko.fi
Hämeenkyrö, Ikaalinen, Kiikoinen, Lavia, Pirkanmaa, Satakunta
Bennet Pellfolk
Forest Specialist
050 542 3586 bennet.pellfolk@kumeko.fi
Etelä-Pohjanmaa, Kristiinankaupunki, Närpiö, Pjelax, Pohjanmaa, Teuva
Tapio Heikintalo
Forest Specialist
050 357 4570 tapio.heikintalo@kumeko.fi
Etelä-Pohjanmaa, Honkajoki, Isojoki, Jämijärvi, Kankaanpää, Karijoki, Karvia, Kauhajoki, Pomarkku, Satakunta, Siikainen
Tapio Isotalo
Forest Specialist
050 304 1796 tapio.isotalo@kumeko.fi
Merikarvia, Satakunta
Carl Marttinen
Forest Specialist
050 472 8426 carl.marttinen@kumeko.fi
Eura, Eurajoki, Harjavalta, Kokemäki, Laitila, Loimaa, Pyhäranta, Rauma, Säkylä, Satakunta, Varsinais-Suomi